Sink or swim?

Standard

The Daily Prompt for today: Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school. What was the outcome?

Back in 2007 I was working at Walmart and they used to have POS(point of sale) systems that used to look like this B9634Pretty annoying to use and not very user friendly. I remember the day that changed. I had closed the night before and the next day I came into work and was greeted to a brand new system that looked something like this. logicposNot exactly like this but you get the picture. I knew how to do my job but I had to learn a new system in front of customers with out any prior training and little time to learn. At the time I worked the customer service desk so my job was a little more complicated then ringing up items. I remember my first customer with the new system. The customer wanted to return a t-shirt that had a hole in it. No problem or so I thought. I remember staring at the new computer and thinking where do I start? I quickly found the right button and slowly started the process. I remember explaining to the customer that we had just gotten a new computer system and that I was still learning my way around. The customer was very understanding. I did complete the return with little error. The system froze on me and I had to restart the computer. It felt like the very first very day of work, where you don’t know anything but I did know how do to my job I just had to work with new hardware. I will never forget what the front end manager said when we confronted him. “My bad I forgot to tell you that we were getting a new system, I figured you all would be ok with it and that nothing would go wrong.” He was not a very manager. He didn’t stay our manager after that. That was one of the hardest days at work I have ever had. I hope I never have to do it again. I no longer work for Walmart and hope I never have to go back.

More from the Daily Prompt:

  1. Russian Accordionist | Photos to inspire you
  2. Perseverance | The Magic Black Book
  3. Sink or Swim | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Persist | thinkerscap
  5. Sink, Swim or Fly | The Ambitious Drifter
  6. Endure | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  7. Alone Again Naturally | Finale to an Entrance
  8. DEPRESSED OPTIMIST + PAINTS + BRUSHES | Standing Ovation, Seated
  9. The deep end of the pool | RPMAS
  10. PROMPT: Sink or Swim | AvaLlea’s Blog
  11. Silent Agony… | paperdollsletter
  12. Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely | The Jittery Goat
  13. I said loudly, in my best English tourist voice, “Does this go to…” | thoughtsofrkh
  14. True beauty | Veni, vici, vidi
  15. The Tow Truck Driver Drove a Chariot
  16. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Awl and Scribe
  17. God’s Grace | A mom’s blog
  18. Sinking not an option for cowards | crookedeyebrows
  19. Women in East : One Perspective ! | Dreams to Reality !
  20. Winter Water | The Ring Lady
  21. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – A migrant’s story | littlegirlstory
  22. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Finding Life
  23. Whatever It Takes | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff