Jenny

Standard

The sound of the glass hitting the floor was all I could hear as I watched it slip out of my hands. That was my fourth glass today. I could loose this job if I don’t get it together.

My thoughts are all over of place making it hard to focus. It started a few weeks ago when I found out that I was pregnant. I wasn’t ready to be a mother. I don’t know the first thing about kids. Me and boyfriend have only been together for a short time, we are still figuring each other out. We got drunk one night and forgot the condom and that’s how I got to my current state, working at a diner barely making enough money to support myself,pregnant and scared shitless.

Standing here crying over a broken glass  and the fact that I could lose my job. I started t bend  down to pick up the glass and my friend stops me and scolds me for even trying. Nobody in my condition should be bending down to clean up glass. She is taking over and that is that. I stand up and compose myself, walk to the back and take a deep breath before walking back out and acting like nothing happened.

My shift at the diner is over and my feet hurt like hell. Mental note get better shoes. I start walking home, which is only a few blocks away when Billy stops me.

“You scared me.”

“Sorry” he says.

“What do you want?”

“We need to talk.”

“We are done talking, you said you didn’t want anything to do with me and the baby.” I shout at him

“I was scared.”

“Well I’m scared too.”

“But I’m not scared anymore.” He whispers in my ear.

I smile but quickly stop.

I shove him out of the way and continue walking he runs after me and begs me to hear him out.

“Just hear me out?”

“No get out of the way”

Now running down the street, I don’t stop until I get home. Tired from running I sit down on the couch and instantly fall asleep.

