Rachael (flash fiction)

Standard

Exhausted from the day Rachael snuggled down on the couch to watch her favorite TV show. As the show started to play, Rachael couldn’t help but think about her day. Everything was casual but the one thing that stood out in her mind was Michael and how he had looked at her so deeply and said those four little words that every girl dreams about. “Will you Marry me?”

She was so taken by surprise that she almost couldn’t catch her breath to answer. Thank goodness she was sitting down at the restaurant or she would have fainted. So many thoughts came rushing through her head.Was she ready to spend the rest of her life with him? Yes was the answer and she knew it without even thinking about. She opened her mouth to answer and nothing came out. “Rachael, you ok?” Michael asked.

“Yes” she thought but the word wouldn’t come out. Why can’t I speak? I have dreamed about this moment my whole life and its finally happening. Just open your mouth and say yes. Ok just try again. You can do it, Rachael. “:Michael” I finally managed to say. “Yes of course I will marry you.” “I love you so much.”

Delighted that she finally answered him he leaned over and kissed her. Our lips touched and the whole room seemed to disappear. Her lips were so soft and our bodies just took over knowing exactly what to do. After a few seconds we parted and I slipped the ring on her finger. It fit perfectly and it looked great on her finger. She is going to make a beautiful bride.

“Omg  its beautiful.” I shout out loud as he slips the ring on my finger. “Glad you love it.” Micheal whispers in my ear.

We finish our dinner and he takes me home and walks me to my door and gives me a good night kiss and walks away slowly. I wait until he gets in his car and drives away before I scream for joy so loud that I wake the neighbors up. Running inside I quickly call everyone I know to tell them the good news.

And that leads me to where I am now on the couch all snuggled under my favorite blanket watching my favorite TV show. The show is almost over and I’m so excited I don’t know if I can sleep. I can’t stop staring at the ring on my finger and thinking that some day I will be a wife. The journey is only beginning and I can’t wait. Are the last thoughts I have before I fall into a deep sleep dreaming of Michael and how wonderful things will be.

BEEP BEEP BEEP the alarm clock rings loudly in my ear. I look down at my finger and smile. Thinking about all the good things.

