Taking back Christmas

Standard

This year my family has decided to scale down the Christmas gifts and focus on the more meaningful part of Christmas,family Which is what Christmas is all about.

Over the years the world has seemed to forgotten the true meaning of Christmas. Everyone has become greedy, focused on getting a great deal that retail stores feel the need to open their doors on Thanksgiving; when families should be together; not working for the all the mighty dollar. I will even go has far to say that Black Friday should be done away with. I find the whole thing ridiculous. People fighting over objects just so they can save a few dollars. And for what? The bragging rights?  I understand wanting to save money on gifts but do we have to fight each other for them? NO!

Let’s take back Christmas and celebrate it they way  so many generations before us have. Being together with family, baking cookies, decorating the tree and sharing memories. Christmas is not about the gifts and who got what. Christmas is about loving one another and being thankful for what you have.

The best Christmas I ever had was when I was in High School and my choir adopting a family in need. We gathered coats, toys, household items and much more. We were able to give them a Christmas where they were not able to. It felt so good to be able to put a smile on their faces. I will remember that feeling for the rest of my life.

Has you are out shopping for that perfect gift; take a minute to think about what Christmas really means to you.

