Taking a break from digging

Standard

I am taking a break from digging to bring you this breaking story.

I need a new job. There I said it. I need a new job. I feel I have out grown my current job as a Medical Office Assistant. Its starting to feel like a dead end job. I have been at my current job for a little over three years and while working with my mother can have its challenges, it hasn’t been that bad, for the most part.

I arrive at work on time every day and I walk down the same hallways and say Hi to the same people and we make small talk about the same things. I then go my desk and proceed to turn on the computers, yes I have two computers and only one monitor. I log into the scheduler and look over the days appointments to see what kind of a day I am in for. I then make my way to the fax machine and pull off the pieces of paper that have been waiting all night, which is anything from triage reports to medication refill requests. I have to then go and find the charts for all the patients for which I have faxes for. Which sometimes requires a chart hunt, which is looking anywhere and everywhere for a chart.

Once I have hunted down all the charts it is time to start taking phone calls. We are a pretty busy office, since we are the only pediatric doctors office within maybe 100 miles. We try very hard to get patients in on the same day so most of my phone calls are just that, making appointments for the same day. I do answer many questions or direct them to the right department.

When the phones finally  get turned off the cleaning of the aftermath ensues. Which usually only takes a few minutes and then its off to go pick up my son from daycare. I go back and do the same thing day after day. I know that all jobs are like that but I want to go into business for myself doing something I love. I’m just not sure what that is or how I am going to achieve this goal.

I have always felt like I was a creative person and have wanted to do something creative but have never really gone after that. I always just chose the safe option and do something I know will make money.

Over the next few months or year I am going to really think about what I want to do and do it. Wish me luck.

Oh and the digging to Tulsa has slowed down a little. I have started to look at flights but haven’t really spent a lot of time looking. I’m still waiting for more details about the event and trying to save money before I purchase a flight. I am still really excited and can’t wait. I will be sure and keep you updated.

