Weekly Writing Challenge:Moved by Music

Standard

I was fourteen when I feel in love with three boys from Tulsa, OK known has Hanson. The year is 1997 and their hit song MMMBop had made a huge impression on me only I didn’t realize how much until many years later. I had just started High School and I was searching for something to hold onto.  I reached out and held on. Hanson were all around my age at the time and they were doing what they love and inspiring me and lots of other teenage girls. I can hear all of you now, those girls that sang that silly song. No they are not girls and the song is really deep if you listen to the lyrics. The song talks about holding onto the relationships that really matter and how you should hold onto them because in an instant they could be gone.   Here is the official music video from 1997

 

Hanson’s music has helped me threw so much, most recently when a grandfather figured died. I listened to a song they wrote for their Grandmother and I cried and cried and then cried some more. I listened to the song on repeat for about an hour, crying the entire time and they switched to a happier song and a smile instantly appeared on my face. I always smile when I listen to Hanson’s music. I can be having the worst day and I can turn on any song of theirs and my mood will instantly change. There are no words to express how thankful I am that I discovered their music and that I have had the opportunity to have been a fan for so long. I have even gotten to meet and interview the band. One of the best days of my life. I will always love their music and their music will always hold a special place in my heart.

 

Check out the weekly writing challenge to see what others have written.

7 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge:Moved by Music

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Dil Dil Pakistan | A mom's blog

  3. I remember this song well. It was so upbeat and fun. Music is very personal and subjective and I love to read about the music other people enjoy.

  4. Pingback: Once Upon A Time, We Were Invincible | Ramisa the Authoress

  5. Pingback: Drown it Out In A Good Tune | My Days In A Song

  6. I’ve always loved this song. I’m quite a bit older than you and had a different perspective when I first heard it, but it never fails to make me smile and take me to a happy place. Thanks for posting it.
    BB

Comments are closed.