Potty training part two

Standard

After a few more days of the daycare lady trying to get my son to go to the bathroom in the toilet, while he is there. She told me today that she is done trying. She told me that little man had peed on her couch again and that she would take him to the bathroom but then ten minutes later he would just wet his pants. She  also mentions that she doesn’t have a lot time to spend in the bathroom waiting for him. Which I do understand, but I’m still not sure what to do now.

So I called the one person I always call when I need advice, my mom. I told her what the daycare lady said and then mentioned I wasn’t sure what to do. She was silent for a minute and then said she wasn’t sure either and we talked about it some more and came to the conclusion that he might have to wear pulls up at daycare and she will have to continue to take him to the bathroom every few hours and maybe the light bulb will go on one day. I really don’t know what else to do. I have heard that pull ups really don’t help, but I feel like have no other option. I just know I can’t send him to kindergarten not potty trained. He will be four in four months and I feel like he should be potty trained or almost potty trained by then. Is that wrong? If anybody has any suggestions or thoughts let me know.

3 thoughts on “Potty training part two

  1. he’s probably quite nervous about it at this point. he was just beginning, when there are always accidents, it’s quite normal, and he knows his daycare provider is getting upset with him. one of the things you can do is the pull ups during his daycare and at night if needed, and when he’s home, try to go longer periods of time without it. boys generally toilet train later than girls and when he is ready it will go really quickly. in the meantime, praise him whenever he goes in the toilet, and try not to put too much pressure on him. just my observations from my own children and from teaching young children, if you think it’s too much for now pull back and try again. i’m sorry his caregiver is not empathetic about this, she must have gone through this many times with the children she cares for )

    • Thanks for the support. After talking to the daycare lady I realized she is trying but she just can’t spend long amounts of time in the bathroom with just my son. I understand where she is coming from, but that doesn’t excuse the fact that she is being empathetic towards the situation. I put pull ups on him today and he stayed dry for the most of the day and I when we got home I put underwear on him and he’s been dry since then. And thanks for the advice.

Comments are closed.