Not down with slang

Standard

Today’s Daily Prompt:

The language of the future: what will it be like? Write an experimental post using some imagined vocabulary — abbreviations, slang, new terms.

I would like to take a moment and say I am not down with slang. It’s hard to read and half the time I don’t even know what the abbreviations mean. Although I will admit that I do use some slang and abbreviations when I am texting but I tried and stay away from it as much as possible. Slang makes a person look uneducated, it takes just has much time to type all the letters in a word as is does to leave them out. I once read a paper that someone had written and I could barely read any of it because it was in slang and abbreviations. I was so turned off by the paper that I stopped reading after only a few sentences, my head hurt from trying to figure out what they had written. I had to ask them what that word was on almost every word. It was very annoying and frustrating.

In the future I hope the written and spoken language doesn’t get any worse. We already have some pretty bad slang and I don’t think I could handle anymore. I can only began to wonder what words will be shorten next. On second thought I don’t want to think about it.

Check out what other fellow bloggers have to say about slang:

  1. Time and place for meditation | Inside My Glitching Mind
  2. I am my mother’s wild future | shame
  3. 2100 | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Thoughts on Blogging | We Live In A Flat
  5. Slang? No, Thank you! | Life Confusions
  6. Daily Prompt: 2100 « Mama Bear Musings
  7. Werd… [Daily Prompt: 2100] | unknowinglee
  8. •• SDMO: Art House •• | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  9. An Interview With William Shakespeare | The Jittery Goat
  10. Daily Prompt: 2100 The language of the future | littlegirlstory
  11. Daily Prompt: 2100 | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  12. Fandipdopdabulous! | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  13. Allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you. Lol. Jk. | sayanything
  14. Daily Prompt: 2100 Language of the Future | Photos and writings
  15. Bacon Nation | My OCD Diaries
  16. Enter, Eccentrica Gallumbits… | alienorajt
  17. I Have Seen The Future | Just Visiting This Planet
  18. K. Ttyl. | Crossroads
  19. Daily Prompt: 2100 | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Daily Prompt: 2100 is a # away | Pooja calling
  21. The Life of i | JC Bride ~
