Pictures

Standard

A little piece of short fiction.

There are pictures scattered  all over the floor. I can’t make since of them all. I start crying. How could things just end? I didn’t want them to but one day it all just ended. We had been the best of friends for some years and one day my whole world fell a part. Now  here I am trying to make since of it all. I walked into the bedroom and the memories are scattered all over, I start to pick them up and the stories start flooding my mind.

The one with the mountain in the background and the one with our favorite band. We had managed to sneak back stage and we were so nervous we almost peed our pants. The band was so nice and offered to take pictures and sign our ticket stubs. The lead singer even gave us a hug. The wide open spaces of the mountains, the fresh air and freedom surrounded us that day. We had hiked up Grizzly Mountain and planned on camping that is until the rain it and we ran all the down the mountain and drove to the nearest hotel.

I can barely remember the day he left. I had woken up early and was sitting at the counter in the kitchen when he walked in and said “I’m  done.” Not even a good morning. Just I’m done. I sat there stunned I didn’t know what do say. When I finally spoke all I could say was “OK.” I was lifeless. I walked around in a daze for the next few days not certain I had heard him right. Then one day I came home from work and his  stuff was gone. I just crumbled to the floor and cried. When I picked myself up I could barely walk.

I spot another picture of our wedding night, we looked so happy and everything seemed so clear. My dress was covered in crystals and my hair was done just right. Him in is black tux looked so handsome and that smile on his face when he saw for the first time, as I walked down the aisle. Every detail planned to the T. The music was perfect, the cake was beautiful and the guests were wonderful and comforting. We flew off to a tropical island for our honeymoon and I never felt more connected. We had a great time.

As sit here thinking of all these wonderful memories I can’t help but think how everything started to change. The little things became big things. We couldn’t be in the same room without fighting. We fought about what to have for dinner, we fought about what color to paint the house and even our future. He wanted eggs, I wanted pancakes. Why can’t we just have both? I loved green with white trim and he loved yellow with white trim. We never did choose. I wanted kids and he didn’t. I spot another picture of our wedding night, our first kiss as husband and wife. The tears start again. I can only hope that one day I will be strong again.

2 thoughts on “Pictures

Comments are closed.