Floating

Standard

cuba-trinidad-caribbean-sea-playa-ancon-woman-floating-on-clear-water-shadow-1-my1 I’m light as a feather and I don’t have a care in the world. That is the thought that goes through my head as I float around in the pool. It’s a hot day outside, almost too hot. That is how I ended up in the pool. I couldn’t take the heat. I love being in the pool, so crystal clear and cool to the touch. I can swim laps or I can just lie on my  back and let the pool take me where ever I want. Floating around is my favorite thing to do. I can forget about Danny and school and even the mean girls. I can clear my head and forget about all the bad stuff in my life right now.

A few days ago Danny and I were madly in love and we had planned on going to the fall dance together, that is until I found him kissing my best friend. I was so angry I cried. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I had to walk away. I confronted Danny later and asked how he could do such a horrible thing? Don’t you love anymore? All he could do was stare. I screamed how could you just stand there and not have anything to say? More staring. Fine I’m done you can go to the dance with her. I don’t care. I stormed off and cried under the big oak tree at the park.  After a few minutes I dried my tears and went home.

The next day I didn’t want to get out of bed. I couldn’t face him. School seemed unimportant and I didn’t see the point. My heart was broken and that’s the only thing that matter. My mom disagreed and ordered me to get out of bed and stop moping around. I knew better then to ignore my mom, so I slowly got out of bed and grabbed some clothes and headed to the shower. I let the warm water fall over me and soon I felt better. Something about water does that to me. I went downstairs and poured a bowl of Captain Crunch and savored the flavor. Time to catch the bus. I hate the bus. The mean girls were always there to say something to send me into a frenzy and Danny will be there. There was no escaping him. What was I suppose to say to him? Did he want me to say something? I decided to not say anything.  Longest bus ride ever. Finally we made it to school I ran off the bus so fast you’d  think something was chasing me.  I went to my first class and tried to concrete. The next  six hours were going to be torture. Danny and I have two classes together and we are lab partners in Chemistry.  I needed something to get me through this day. I started to think about being in the pool, just floating around and not having a care in the world. I needed to be in the pool. I closed my eyes and pictured the pool, the cool water and the sounds of the water floating by me. And when I opened my eyes I am right back at the pool, where I have been all a long. I swim over to the edge and pull myself out the pool, grabbed my towel and walked back into the house.

Inspired my the daily post.

Check out what others have written:

  1. Well, Well. | Godrick Gnomish
  2. My very own Land’s End | A Teacher’s Blog from Land’s End
  3. Gone | Daily Prompt: Bookworms | likereadingontrains
  4. Daily Prompt: Bookworms in a Bookish Home | SERENDIPITY
  5. Daily Prompt: Books | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  6. Found on Road Side Dead [Fix or Repair Daily] « RPMAS
  7. Thoth: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  8. Daily Prompt: Bookworms « Vicariously Poetic
  9. The tenth word. | Crossroads
  10. I | thoughtsofrkh
  11. S. Thomas Summers | Why I Visit Books
  12. Daily Prompt: Bookworms | Uncle Spike’s Adventures
  13. Daily Prompt: Bookworms | lena de almeida
  14. Perched on the branch of life | mostlytrueramblings
22 thoughts on “Floating

  1. Pingback: My nearest book | Life & Times

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Stay | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Words, Words, Words… | Tommia's Tablet

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Being a Teacher | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms | MythRider

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms: Historian | MythRider

  9. Pingback: Am I really much of a bookworm anymore? | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: Verona | The Silver Leaf Journal

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Bookworms | Joe's Musings

  12. Pingback: Spoiler Alert: You Die in the End | Jotting Down Life

Comments are closed.