Physical therapy or no physical therapy? That is the question

Standard

Little man was born early, almost a month to be exact. He spent two weeks in the NICU and ever since he has a pretty complicated medical history. He had ear infection after ear infection to the put where he’s now had two sets of tubes and his adenoids taken out He walked at 18 months and started talking late. He is behind in his speech and he attends speech therapy twice a week and he even goes to a developmental preschool to get the help he needs.

Today I picked him up from daycare and I was looking at the papers he brought home from school and I noticed the teacher had written that the physical therapist was visiting today and wants to talk to me about Little man getting services. I almost cried right there at the daycare. I held the tears back, until I got home. I just can’t take anymore. Just when I think he is making progress I get told one more thing that he needs. And the worst thing about it is that I don’t even know why he needs physical therapy. He can walk, run, jump, skip and yes sometimes he falls down but don’t all three years old?

Now don’t get me wrong I do want what is best for my son, but I just hate hearing all the negative things. And lately the negative things seem to be out weighing the positive. Little man is the most happiest child I have ever met. He also kind,loving and very smart. He loves to take things a part only to figure out how to put them back together again. And this point I think I am going to decline the physical therapy services and focus on his speech, which is my main concern. I hope I am doing the right the thing.

3 thoughts on “Physical therapy or no physical therapy? That is the question

  1. Perhaps the physical therapy is for motor skills like handling scissors, pen, pencils. Hear them out before turning them down. Dry your tears darling. Sending a hug your way.

Comments are closed.