What’s in a name?

Standard

My first name is Danielle which is French and Hebrew in origin and mean god is my judge. My parents named me after the author Danielle Steel. My dad actually choose the name because he liked the author. My name middle name is Elizabeth and the name has been in my family for generations. Which is also Hebrew in origin and means gods promise. I like my name and in some ways its unique. However I went to school with four other Danielle’s s so it was confusing at times.

My sons first name is Brandon which is Old English in origin and means prince or brave. I picked his name out because it was a strong name and it went well with is middle, which is also his dad’s middle name. Orion is his middle which comes from the constellation with the same name.  Which is Greek in origin and means mighty hunter.  I always liked the idea of keeping family names. So when we found out I was pregnant I suggested that if we had a girl we would give her my middle name and if we had a boy we would give him my husbands(now ex-husband) middle name. Since we already had middle names we just had to pick first names. After some debate we settled on a few names for which gender and we found out we were having a boy we narrowed it down and picked Brandon. I am glad we did. I like the name and I think it fits him.

This post was inspired by the Daily Post.

Here is what others have to say about their names:

  1. When my granny was young | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Natalie Elizabeth. | Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  3. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Identity
  4. Name that… You! | Geek Ergo Sum
  5. What’s in a Name? « RPMAS
  6. What’s in a Name? | meanderedwanderings
  7. Facebook and Cheap Trick: I’d like you to like me | DCMontreal
  8. There’s no (censored) “D” in my name | thoughtsofrkh
  9. Daily Prompt: The Born Identity | Creative Mysteries
  10. MASIDO | Hellen Masido
  11. Phoneography Weekly: What lies under the bushes | We Live In A Flat
  12. Daily Prompt: Name that…You! « Mama Bear Musings
  13. What’s in a name? | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  14. Daily Prompt: Name that…You | Under the Monkey Tree
  15. daily prompt – what’s in a name? | pork juice & paper towels
  16. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! « Every day adventures in Asia (mostly)
  17. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! Five Js | littlegirlstory
  18. Daily Prompt; Name that..You | terry1954
  19. Daily Prompts | derekalanwilkinson
  20. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | College Girl Dai
  21. Daily Prompt: Identity – It’s Maryann, Not Maryanne, Not Marianne | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  22. What’s In A Name? | The Ambitious Drifter
  23. What’s In A Name? Ingredients | Edward Hotspur
  24. What’s in a name? | Hope* the happy hugger
  25. Naming Baby Brother (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  26. Alienora: what a weird name! | alienorajt
  27. Baby Names Matter | Virginia Views
  28. Oops I Named Myself: The ‘Thrilling’ Tale Behind My Name | Untitled Entity
  29. Beloved Stag in a Field | The Cheese Whines
  30. 160. What’s in a Name? | kevindeisher
  31. Defining Yourself – Identity | Prayers and Promises
  32. A wandering emerald | MC’s Whispers
  33. I name this ship… | Life & Times
  34. Name that…You | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Just the Two of Us | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  36. Little Girl | Being Nenne
  37. A Rose by Any Other Name : Name that… You! | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  38. The Naming Game | A mom’s blog
  39. Naming Me | Self-observing with a Typical Nobody
  40. What’s in a Name? | The Silver Leaf Journal
  41. Name that… You! | The Nameless One
  42. Just the Two of Us | Catching up with The Seeker’s Dungeon | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!
